Diego Costa has been charged with improper conduct following his red card at Goodison Park, the Football Association said on Monday.
The Chelsea striker escaped any punishment for his confrontation with Gareth Barry after the Everton midfielder absolved him of biting him but the Football Association reviewed other incidents in the FA Cup quarter-final which Chelsea lost 2-0.
They included his conduct towards the match referee, Michael Oliver, when he failed to leave the field of play immediately after the sending off and an alleged gesture to the home fans at half-time.
The 27-year-old has until 6pm on Thursday to respond to the charge and until Wednesday to provide his observations to the FA in relation to the alleged gesture.
The most serious claim has been dismissed after Barry denied the biting allegation on the social media platform Fanzai. “Seen a lot of talk about the incident involving me and Diego Costa in the game last night,” he said. “For the record Diego did not bite me”.
A Chelsea spokesman said after the game: “Diego spoke to club officials after the game and expressed regret over his reaction to the challenge from Gareth Barry that led to his red card, but Diego was also very clear that he did not bite him at any point during that altercation.”
Costa was dismissed for a second bookable offence six minutes from the end after an ugly clash with Barry during which he appeared to make a motion to bite the Everton midfielder before thinking better of it.