A huge collection of 3400+ free website templates JAR theme com WP themes and more at the biggest community-driven free web design site
Home / Cricket / Australia seal T20 series

Australia seal T20 series

Hashim Amla © Gallo ImagesHaze

Dale Steyn understands Neil – The Aussies are here… briefly Kepler – The twisting turns of T20Haze – AB’s box-batting secret Australia seal T20 series by Brendon Atwell 09 March 2016, Australia sealed the three-match Twenty20 series against South Africa with the six-wicket victory in the final match at PPC Newlands on Wednesday. Full Scorecard: South Africa v Australia Interactive coverage All four of the visitors’ top-order contributed, with Usman Khawaja (33) and Shane Watson (42) adding 76 for the opening stand before Steven Smith (44) and David Warner (33) put the match beyond the hosts with 79 for the third wicket.Imran Tahir finished with 2-38 off his four overs.Earlier, Hashim Amla smashed his highest T20 International score as South Africa posted 178 for four .Amla, who raised his highest total of 69 not out against England in the second T20, smashed eight boundaries and four maximums to end unbeaten on 97 off just 62 balls after Faf du Plessis had won the toss and elected to bat first.Amla and Quinton de Kock gave the home side the perfect start with an opening stand of 47 before the wicketkeeper chanced his arm once too often and was caught at third man by John Hastings off the bowling of Nathan Coulter-Nile (4-0-36-2) for 25 off 13 balls.Du Plessis (4) popped a slower ball from Shane Watson (2-0-22-1) straight to James Faulkner at short mid-wicket before Amla and Rilee Rossouw (16) peddled their way to a 47-run stand for the third wicket. Rossouw did not do himself any favours, facing 21 balls while only hitting one boundary after being dropped on three by Glenn Maxwell off the leg-spin of Adam Zampa (4-0-23-0).The turning point of the innings came when Miller walked out to the crease as he and Amla lifted the rate with a stand of 50 in five overs before Miller, who smashed two boundaries and two sixes, popped a low full-toss to Usman Khawaja in the covers for 30 off 16 balls.Amla then proceeded to smash Faulkner (4-0-42-1) over the mid-wicket boundary for six off the final ball of the innings. Australia will be looking to chase down 179 to win the match and the series. SOUTH AFRICA: HM Amla, Q de Kock (wk), F du Plessis (capt), JP Duminy, DA Miller, RR Rossouw, D Wiese, KJ Abbott, K Rabada, Imran Tahir, DW Steyn AUSTRALIA: SR Watson, UT Khawaja, DA Warner, SPD Smith (capt), GJ Maxwell, MR Marsh, JP Faulkner, PM Nevill (wk), NM Coulter-Nile, JW Hastings, A Zampa

Facebook Comments

Check Also

ten_660_091813040308_101113055834 (1)

40 interesting facts about Sachin Tendulkar

As Sachin Tendulkar announced his retirement from Test cricket on Thursday, here is a compilation …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *